top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJac

128: Domain of Darkness (Themeless)

Word Count: 73

Mean Word Length: 5.48


A crossword enthusiast once shared a tip with me: always give your puzzles a name, no matter their content or size. I took this to heart and have since come up with some entertaining titles. As my specialty is themeless crosswords, my titles can be quite quirky. One of my favorite recent titles is "Pikachu & the Art Deco Restaurant," inspired by a combination of three clues from the puzzle. That's usually how I create my titles—by blending clues found within the crossword. For today's puzzle, clues 60-Across and 61-Across caught my attention, resulting in the title, "Domain of Darkness."


"Domain of Darkness" features a 16x15 grid with standard symmetrical blocks. The 16-letter word at 34-Across spans the entire grid, and I've been trying to include it in my past few puzzles. At last, I managed to create a grid with several entries that fit nicely alongside this lengthy entry. Enjoy solving the puzzle!


Title Inspiration: 60A, 61A

Seed Word: 34A

Personal Word List/Score: 24A, 34A, 54A, 55A, 60A

Reused 4+ Letter Words: 2D, 6D, 10D, 11D, 23A, 24D, 29D, 31D, 33A, 38A, 49D, 52D,

Unique Words to Date: 5,250 (+55)

Non-NYT Words: 21D, 24A, 34A, 41A, 54A, 55A

Non-Shortz-Era Words: 4D, 5D, 39A, 60A


If you enjoy, solve, stream (I give bits), or find a typo in my crossword, please let me know!


Don't forget to love each other,

Jac


Click here to load the puzzle larger in AmuseLabs!


102 views
Wix Banner 2.png

TRASH PANDA PUZZLES

Crosswords by Jason "Jac" Crabtree

bottom of page